How to Delete Online Social Media Accounts No Longer In Use - techvoom

Breaking

Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

How to Delete Online Social Media Accounts No Longer In Use


Protecting your identity online is essential for your brand, reputation and credit worthiness, far more important than updating your Instagram and Facebook every day. Several times a year the news will cover a serious data breach of information being held by major banks, insurance companies and/or social media platforms. Once the data is taken, it can be misused or even lead to identity theft. Deleting your old social media accounts is a vital step to help ensure some measure of identity protection. It is imperative that you keep your online access to your current accounts safe and protected and delete any old accounts.


Here is a guide that will help you delete your old accounts on the most popular social media sites.


how to delete your facebook account


Moving onto the biggest social network platform of all time, Facebook, with over a billion users, keeps things simple and makes it incredibly easy for you to deactivate your account.

Once you go into the "settings" tab from the down arrow in your browser, select your Facebook information and then select delete your account and information". When you are in this menu you will go to delete your account and must add the password to confirm.


how to delete your Foursquare account


Foursquare hit the internet over a decade ago to let friends know where you are and figuring out where they are. In order to delete your Foursquare account, you will have to access the platform from your computer. Move onto the "privacy" settings tab where you have to scroll to the end of the page and find an option to delete your account. When you select this option you will go to a page where you need to confirm whether you want to delete your account or not.


how to delete your Google account


Google is the undisputed search engine leader with one of the most interconnected ecosystems. By creating one account for Google you are able to access a plethora of different applications and websites without having to create separate accounts. In order to delete your Google+ or Gmail account, you will need to delete your entire Google account.

Go to "Google account settings" and choose "delete account and services". There you will see the "delete products" option, where you can access all of your Google applications. You need to sign in to all of the websites first before you can delete your account.


how to delete your Instagram account


Facebook's younger brother is possibly the most used social media platform by Millennials, according to Hootsuite. Thanks to its focus on visual communication, it is the go-to place in order to find talented artists.

Deleting your account is very simple and takes little time to properly accomplish. While you can manage your privacy settings using the mobile app, you must go through an internet browser in order to delete your account. Simply go to the "delete your account page", and there you will have to provide a reason for deleting your account. Once you provide the reason, you will provide your password and then select the option to permanently delete the account.


how to delete your Linked In account


LinkedIn is the social network for professionals looking for new opportunities to connect with other professionals and grow their business and careers. If you are on the platform, the profile should be complete and up-to-date. If you are no longer using the platform, delete the account. At the top right corner of any page of LinkedIn, you will first have to access the "privacy and settings" tab. From there, choose the "account" tab and then select closing your LinkedIn account. You will have to give your feedback and verify your account before you can delete it. From there you will see a post telling you of the consequences of deleting your account and then the final page which will be for confirmation.


how to delete your MySpace account


This social media platform has been bought and sold several times since its glory days (2005 to 2009). In 2016 their database was breached and leaked to a dark market website. To delete your MySpace account, you will first have to login to the account that you want to delete. From there, select the "gear" icon and choose the "account" tab. There, you will see an option to delete your account. Before you can delete your account you will have to provide a reason after which you will receive an email for confirmation. Open the email and follow its instructions.


how to delete your Pinterest account


Pinterest is a web-based pinboard or bulletin board, a place to bookmark images found online. To delete your Pinterest account you will first have to go to the triple dot icon on the website and select the "edit settings" option. From there you will have to go down to the "account" page and select "deactivate account". From there you will click "yes" to receive an email, which you need to open and follow in order to permanently delete your account.


how to delete your Snapchat account


Snapchat is a service that, for a short time, rivaled Facebook and was the go-to social media app for many people. As is the case with Instagram, you cannot delete your account from the mobile app; you must delete it from a proper browser.

From the website browser, go to "delete your account" and enter your username and password. Your account does not delete instantly and it takes about 30 days to remove all of the information.


how to delete your Twitter account


Regardless of how famous your really are, everyone has a Twitter handle. Many people follow and get their news from the tweets of everyone from legitimate newsmakers and media organizations to raving fans of our favorite sport teams. Deleting your Twitter account is incredibly easy. It takes at least 30 days for all of your tweets to get deleted. Select "settings and privacy" from the form on the menu and go into the account tab. From there you will have to deactivate your account and enter your password to confirm the action.


how to delete your Tumblr account


Tumblr probably has one of the most bustling communities on the internet, which is also why it is very easy for anyone to delete their account. While you are able to delete your account, the content other people have reposted will remain available on the site. To delete your account, click on the person-shaped icon on the website, and go to "settings". There select "delete account", entering your email and password to confirm the process. Tumblr also states that it takes them a few days to properly wipe all of your content.


how to delete your Whatsapp account


Whatsapp is a free messaging app to send Voice over IP (VoIP), images, video calls and documents using a mobile device. To delete your account, simply open your Whatsapp and go to the "settings" menu. From there, select account and go to "Delete my account", after which you will have to enter your phone number in international code and tap "delete".


how to delete your YouTube account



YouTube is second only to Facebook as a social media platform, owned by Alphabet, the owner the parent company of Google. A well-managed channel can help to improve website ratings. A channel not in use should be deleted. Deleting your channel from the largest video-sharing platform on the internet is quite simple. You will first have to sign into your YouTube account and go to your advanced settings. From there, choose "delete channel" and then opt for "delete channel permanently". This will launch a prompt where you can confirm if you want to delete your channel or would still like to keep it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Pages